Driving Safety Course

If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may be eligible to ask the judge to take a driving safety course to dismiss the charge. You must request this in writing or in person within twenty business days from the date of your citation or you could lose that right. A written notice is a notarized affidavit of eligibility or sworn request.

Do not take the course until you have obtained permission from the court.

You do not qualify to take driving safety course if you have a Commercial Driver's License; have completed the class within the last twelve months; charged with speeding 25 mph over the posted speed limit or have committed one of the following offenses:

  1. Failure to Give Information at Accident Scene.
  2. Leaving Scene of Accident.
  3. Fleeing or Attempting to Elude Police Officer.
  4. Reckless Driving.
  5. Passing School Bus.
  6. A serious traffic offense, which applies to commercial motor vehicle operators.
  7. An offense in a construction zone when workers are present.

Eligibility requirements for Driving Safety Course are as follows:

  1. You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest (DSC Request form).
  2. You must possess a valid Texas Driver's License.
  3. You must possess Texas Liability Insurance valid the day of your request with your name on the policy.
  4. You must pay the State Cost and Administrative fee $144 or $169 (if violation occurred in a school zone). Contact court to determine the cost.
  5. You cannot be charged with speeding in excess of 25 mph over the posted limit.
  6. You cannot currently be taking the course for another citation.
  7. Your driving record can not reflect completion of a driving safety course within the twelve months preceding the date of the alleged offense.

You must provide the court with Driver Safety Course Request form with the copy of your driver's license, and proof of insurance with your name on it to the court within 20 business days from the issue date of the citation. Upon court approval to take the course, you will have ninety days in which to provide the court with the three following documents:

  1. The "court copy" of the certificate of completion for the driver safety course from an agency approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA).
  2. A certified copy of your driving record maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
  3. An affidavit stating that you were not taking such a course or had completed one within the proceeding 12 months from the date of your current offense that is not shown on your driving record maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
  4. If these three documents are not filed with the court within ninety days, you may be responsible for payment of fine, thereby having the offense reported to your driving record and a warrant issued for your arrest.

Please mail all required documents and payment (money order or check) to the Sanger Municipal Court.